About the Jury

The 10-member voting jury is comprised of six technical jurors and four general jurors. They are further supported by a team of deputy general jurors, technical experts and guests – including student and faculty representatives, all of whom play a vital and valuable role in informing the voting jurors.

Marc Angélil
Professor, Department of Architecture, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
Partner, apgs.architecture

Marc Angélil was a founding member of the Holcim Foundation Board and of the Technical Competence Center from its inception in 2003 until 2010. His firm, apgs.architecture, has offices in Los Angeles and Zurich, and is involved with projects around the world. A member of the Holcim Awards jury for region Europe in 2005 and region Latin America in 2008 and 2011, he was also a workshop moderator at the 3rd Holcim Forum 2010 in Mexico City.

Geni Bahar
Founder and President, NAVIGATS Inc.
Geni Bahar is a Professional Engineer and has worked globally as a traffic safety engineering expert, project manager, principal investigator, and trainer. Her areas of expertise are Policy Development, Pedestrian Studies, Community Traffic Studies, Value Engineering, Safety Management & Network Screening, Safety Reviews & Audits, Research Papers and Training. In 2007 she received the Transportation Person of the Year Award from the Transportation Association of Canada and Transport Canada

Ray Cole
Professor, School of Architecture & Landscape Architecture, University of British Columbia
Ray Cole is co-founder of the Green Building Challenge, and a past Director member of the Canadian Green Building Council. He has received numerous academic and professional awards and distinctions for his activities in green building, most recently the Canada Green Building Council’s 2009 Lifetime Leadership Award. He was a member of the Holcim Awards jury for region North America in 2008 and 2011.

Jennifer Keesmaat
Chief Planner and Executive Director, City of Toronto
Jennifer Keesmaat is a registered professional planner, an award-winning member of the Canadian Institute of Planners and a member of the Congress of New Urbanism. Prior to becoming the City of Toronto’s Chief Planner and Executive Director, she was a Principal at DIALOG Toronto and a founding partner of the Office for Urbanism. She is also a regular guest lecturer at York University, the University of Toronto, and Ryerson University.

Tobias Micke
Founder and partner, ST raum a.
Tobias Micke has more than 20 years of experience as landscape architect. Trained as Landscape Architect at TFH University Berlin, Tobias also has a practical background as Construction Manager. He has worked on large scale Projects and Masterplans for Central and East Europe, Russia, China and Middle East, and is also a lecturer at various institutions in Germany. He has served as President of Juries in several international design competitions.

Julie Snow, FAIA
Principal of Julie Snow Architects Inc.
Julie is a professional Architect with a practice based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Her practice has been recognized with numerous awards including the AIA Honor Award and Holcim North American Bronze Award among others. In addition to her professional work, Julie Snow has held several visiting professor positions including the Graduate School of Design at Harvard, University of Arkansas, University of Maryland and Washington University. While teaching at the University of Minnesota College of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, she received the Ralph Rapson Award for Distinguished Teaching.

David Barnard
President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Manitoba
David Barnard holds B.Sc., M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in computer science from the University of Toronto and a Dip.C.S. in theological studies from Regent College, University of British Columbia. He has extensive board experience including at the Bank of Canada Executive Committee, and the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada. Currently he chairs the Canadian Research Knowledge Network and is a member of six boards including Greystone Managed Investments, St. Boniface General Hospital, and CentreVenture Development Corporation.

Kiki Delaney
President, Delaney Capital Management
Kiki Delaney founded Delaney Capital Management in 1992. Before starting Delaney Capital she had 20 years of investment industry experience, first at Merrill Lynch and then at Guardian Capital. She was also a partner, executive vice president and portfolio manager at Gluskin Sheff & Associates. A former director of the Toronto Society of Financial Analysts, she was appointed a member of the Order of Canada in 2006. Delaney is also an alumna of the University of Manitoba, as well as an honorary degree recipient.

Ovide Mercredi
Lawyer and Counsellor, Misipawistik Cree Nation
Ovide Mercredi is a lawyer, author, negotiator and former National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, where he served two terms from 1991 to 1997. He has been deeply involved in constitutional law reform issues and Aboriginal and treaty rights negotiations. As an advocate for non-violent methods for change, he has been nominated for the Gandhi Peace Prize and, in 2006, was invested with the Order of Manitoba. Mercredi is also an alumnus of the University of Manitoba.

Scott Thomson
President and CEO, Manitoba Hydro
Scott Thomson worked as a management consultant from 1990 to 1999 in London, Vancouver, and Riyadh. Prior to coming to Manitoba Hydro, he spent the past 12 years at Fortis BC Holdings Inc. and its predecessor companies, most recently as Executive Vice- President Finance, Regulatory Affairs and Energy Supply as well as Chief Financial Officer. He is also a Director on the Boards of the Canadian Electricity Association, the Canadian Gas Association, CIGRE Canada and a number of volunteer boards.

Deputy general jurors will strengthen the process by ensuring that the juror they are supporting is represented at all jury proceedings. The alternate jurors will ensure that the juror can make an informed vote when selecting finalists and a winner.

Technical Experts will provide overall advocacy and support to the jury. Their participatory role is to provide support and additional technical expertise to the jury in all design disciplines, and to assist with the technical evaluation of the submissions prior to the jury review.

Guests to the jury play an important role by applying broader provincial, city, community, student and university perspectives to the jury process. Guests will participate by attending all jury meetings, providing crucial stakeholder viewpoints, and acting as champions for the project.